Thursday, October 14, 2010


When the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) was established it was officially called the "Territory for the Seat of Government" and referred to generally as the "Federal Capital of Australia." (FTC). Moves were made to alter the official title as it was seen to be a cumbersome term and a bill was raised in Parliament to replace the name officially as the FTC however through political circumstance the bill was reintroduced several times with the name finally resting on today's name of the Australian Capital Territory.

This article from The Canberra Times - 3 December 1937 indicates that not all were happy about the impending change and highlight the general concerns...

National Library of Australia (here)

Share -